Rhinos killed to date 2012

* 442 Rhinos killed in 2014 so far in SA, (668 in 2012 / 1004 in 2013)

Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Brants's whistling rat

Whistling rat, not whistling but chewing...
Near Langklaas, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 800mm, 1/640, F9, ISO 800


Tuesday, 16 September 2014

Pygmy Falcon

Pygmy Falcon
Near 14th Borehole, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

These Pygmy falcons become 19-20cm and are the smallest raptors in Africa.

Taken @ 800mm, 1/800, F13, ISO 800

Monday, 15 September 2014

Tawny Eagle scream

Tawny Eagle screams

Near Rooibrak, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 800mm, 1/640, F9, ISO 800

Friday, 12 September 2014

Verreaux eagle-owl

Verreaux (or Giant) Eagle owl
Near Sitzas, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 800mm, 1/200, F8, ISO 2500


Wednesday, 10 September 2014

Affection between lioness and her cub

Affection between lioness and her cub

Rooikop, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 400mm, 1/400, F11, ISO1250

Tuesday, 9 September 2014

Mata Mata sunset

Mata Mata often has the most spectacular sunsets
Mata Mata, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Monday, 8 September 2014

Oryx lying in the sand

Cold winter's morning, curling up in the sun
Notice the upside down black V's on their bodies.
13th Borehole, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 800mm, 1/3200, F8, ISO 800


Saturday, 6 September 2014

Dancer's pose

Cave Yoga - Dancer's pose
De Hoop Nature Reserve
Taken in slippery cave @ 1/250, F8, ISO 100


Friday, 5 September 2014

Hoopoe

Hoopoo sitting in a tree

Monro, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 800mm, 1/400, F10, ISO 800


Thursday, 4 September 2014

Lion brotherly love

2 Young Lions
2 Young Lions, one playfully holding the other one's head while it's getting licked.
13th Borehole, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Taken @ 800mm, 1/500, F10, ISO 800